French Foreign Legion Mix

These photos show the results of my very first effort in painting 1:72 scale soldiers after taking a break for about 20 years.  I had painted what I thought were my last plastic soldiers back in 1990/91 when I was stationed in Hawaii in the Army–right before I got married.  I’ve since retired and seem to have a little more free time on my hands lately.  So, last year around the holidays, after browsing the web and seeing how far this hobby has come, I went to the garage and started pulling out some of my old boxes of collected soldiers and started painting some figures again.  I was glad that my two boy’s didn’t lose too many men during their years in command of my troops.  I gathered up the ESCI FFL and Arab Warrior sets and went to work.  Somehow, I had about 10 Airfix Legionnaires in the mix (even though I don’t ever remember owning a set) so I ordered a box of HäT/Airfix FFL reinforcements. I also ordered some HäT Early French figures to play with as well.  You may spot some of them in the mix as well as a couple of Emhar French Infantry from the Crimean War painted up like the classic Legion.

This is the result.  About 100 troops all together.  I didn’t really have a clue what “the dip method” was and you can see that I made some horrible bases out of Scuplty clay before I learned about using pennies.  They are OK for war games but I plan that one day I’ll paint another set and take more time with the process.  I think my more recent efforts on the Dahomey figures in the previous post resulted in a better looking figures.

I’ll post the Arabs next.

About Jack Wagner

Retired Army.
This entry was posted in Miniatures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

