1:72 Scale Grid

I’ve been up to my eyeballs with work issues, home repairs, weather, kid’s college issues, appointments, taxes, a cold and other assorted crap that just seems to suck the life out of you like an Azkaban dementor.  What a relief it was to spend some time this past weekend painting some miniatures and getting some reading done.  I just received a copy of Hell in the Foreign Legion by Ernst F. Lohndorf that I ordered from a South African book dealer.  I look forward to his descriptions of drunken legionnaires with the “IQ of a rabbit”  (he really lays the hyperbole on pretty thick, while all the time plotting to desert).  I’ll review this book as soon as I am finished with reading it.  His experience in the Foreign Legion begins after WWI so I think it’s fairly close to the era that I’m most interested in on this blog.  In the mean time, attached below is a grid that I made for measuring walls for buildings and measuring various bits and bobs to the 1:72 scale.  I use it most often to ensure that what I’m working on (doors, windows, sandbags, etc.) will scale right with the various 1:72 scale soldiers I have.  The key (I know you heard this somewhere before) is that each miniature solder is an inch high and in real life he would be 6 foot high.  On my grid I divided the inch into six equal parts which represent 1 foot.  This might be useful for folks who are not used to using inches and feet.  Also a U.S. or Canadian penny on my graph (or any ruler for that matter) has a 4.5 square diameter (four and a half feet if it was real life).  Something to think about when basing your miniatures.

As an Army veteran I learned to speak meters and kilometers a long time ago but the fact of the matter is that 1:72 is simply 1 inch multiplied by 72–there is nothing I can do about it but to make  measuring easier by converting this to centimeters.  Also I only have N. American Bond and Legal sizes.

1_72 Scale Bond

1_72 Scale Legal

About Jack Wagner

Retired Army.
This entry was posted in Miniatures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

