Foreign Legion Uniform Prints

Sorry that it has been a week since my last post.  I try to post more frequently but this past week I was on the road for a couple of days and somewhat busy with household projects.   So to make up for some lost time I’m making a quick post with some uniform illustrations.  Like so many of the pictures I’ve found on the web I’m not sure what the original source is.  They were painted in 1995 and the artist’s name is D’Ordey (or Diordey, or D’Lordey) but I cannot find any references to him on the internet.  Please leave a comment if you have any clues on the origin.

I’ll try to pick up the pace a bit on this blog but it IS summer after all–kids are home, garden is exploding, the local pool beacons, meat needs grilling and beer needs to be swilled.   Nevertheless, here are some of the things I’m working on for future posts.

  • P. C. Wren’s Foreign Legion books
  • Painting up my Armies in Plastic Foreign Legion Figures (W.I.P. pictures)
  • Book review of Bennett Doty’s book “Legion of the Damned”
  • News articles relating to Bennett Doty
  • Recent finds on Galica (Legion unit histories)
  • Movie review of “The Desert Sands”.
About Jack Wagner

Retired Army.
This entry was posted in Admin / Blogging / Stuff, Uniforms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Foreign Legion Uniform Prints

  1. Shawn says:

    I was wondering if you could help me out. I just purchased from an antique shop a Legionaires Kepi and have been trying to find out some information about it. Unfortunately I have not seen a whole lot of information regarding time period or applicability. The hat is a sand or tan color with a leather bill; however the top of the hat is red felt or wool with gold braiding around the perimeter of the cap and on the top in the form of a cross.
    The grenade device is on the front and there is a hat manufacturer label on the inside which cannot be read clearly but is in French.
    The label cannot be read well due to excessive sweat stains.
    Any idea if it is authenic and what time period it originates from?
    Is it enlisted or officer?

    Any help would be appreciated. It will require a bit of restoration if its authenic due to the stitching on the hat band is brittle and coming undone.
    If its real I don’t mind spending the money, however if its a repro it will make an ok conversation piece as is.

    Thanks,

    Like

Leave a Reply

