Taking a Break…

img395I’m going to step away from my keyboard for a bit.  My father passed away today after a recent struggle with congestive heart failure, a broken hip and other ailments.  He was 89 years old, a WWII U.S. Navy veteran and the most wonderful Dad one could ask for.  It’s a bit hard right now to carry on with blogging so I’m going to take a break….I’ll be back as soon as I’m able.  I’m sure you can understand.

About Jack Wagner

Retired Army.
This entry was posted in Admin / Blogging / Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Taking a Break…

  1. ricky44nz says:

    My sincere condolences to you and your family Jack.

    Like

  2. Arlequín says:

    My condolences on your loss to you and yours Jack.

    Thanks for a quite unique and interesting blog too and I look forwards to reading more when you feel you are able to carry on.

    Like

  3. knirirr says:

    Please accept my condolences to you and your family also.

    Like

  4. Verdier says:

    Best of wishes to you and your family.

    Like

  5. johnmusgrave says:

    My condolences and sympathies at your loss.
    This epitaph is from En Algerie – a Foreign Legion marching song I remember singing….Not hugely appropriate for a US Navy veteran but the wishes for the repose of youre father’s soul are sincere. Translation is mine.

    Camarade, toi mon pays,
    je vous quitte sans regret
    volontaire, j’ai bien servi,
    avec honneur et fidélité.

    Un légionnaire quand il tombe,
    quand il a fermé les yeux,
    il repose en Algérie,
    dans le djebel une croix le dit.

    Friend, you my country, I leave you without regret. Volunteer, I served well, with honour and faithfulness.
    A legionnaire, when he falls, when he has closed his eyes, he rests in Algeria, in the Djebel (mountains) a cross tells this…

    Like

  6. Jack Wagner says:

    Thank you all for your kind words of condolence.

    I always thought my dad would live forever–so it seems to me now. Years and years go buy and we exchange letters, phone calls and make as many visits to each other as we can fit in. Then, over the course of a couple of months it all changes when my dad makes his exit. That is life after all. We should not forget that we are all just visitors here on earth. Here for a only a short time. The death of loved ones will intrude on our routine lives with random frequency. But, these losses should serve as reminders to make more time for the family and friends we still have with us and to prompt us to make the most of the time we have left. As Gandalf said “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

