Quartier Vienot

Happy 4th of July!

Sorry if I’ve been kind of slow in posting to this blog.  The main culprit was my failing computer–blue screens of death, frozen screens followed by a hard crash.  I think the problem is my video card.  After hitting the card’s fan with canned air and blowing out the guts of the case “old betsy” seems to be happier.  Then came 4th of July weekend and the traditional mix of BBQ, alcohol and fireworks.  Not even time to work on my Desert Fort this weekend.

But anyway, I hope that is all behind me.  To get back into the swing of things I’m posting an overhead  image of the famous Quartier Vienot–the Legion barracks in Sidi Bel Abbes, Algeria.  I’ve annotated some buildings and points of interest based on what I’ve read about the layout in various memoirs.  I’m not going to claim that it is even 90% accurate.  If I had the time and money I would love to fly to Algeria and see if I could get a tour of the layout and the old buildings.   I understand that the barracks is currently used as a school by locals.  As I learn more I’ll continue to update this and later will post some of the pictures of SBA and Vienot that I’ve collected.

About Jack Wagner

Retired Army.
This entry was posted in History, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

