AI Fails

Here’s a quick post showing some of the Artificial Intelligence (AI) projects that I was working on recently.  Around last Christmas I was trying out various AI websites to generate what I hoped would be a beautiful computer generated image for posting to the blog.  I was asking for a tranquil scene of a small Foreign Legion fort, located in the Saharan desert on Christmas night.  So my requests to the various AI engines were variations of something like this...”create an image of a small French Foreign Legion desert fort on Christmas night”.  I also tried to get Open AI’s GPT 4.0 to make some Legionnaire pictures-with the right uniform and kepi-blanc of the classic Beau Geste style. Well, these attempts were for the most part a failure.  Take a look at this pathetic work from the feverish AI brain….

Here are the attempts by GPT4.0 to create a French Foreign Legion Legionnaire and a kepi blanc (using multiple variations of words to describe that iconic headgear).  Epic fail if you ask me.  Check out the AI’s idea of the flaming grenade insignia and the guy with the wacko hat and double butt-stock rifle.

Finally here are some halfway decent results… not quite what I wanted but nice in their own unique ways.

I’ll probably keep plugging away at this project.  I suspect my amateur ability to interact with the AI programs is so poor that I’m not getting any good results.  I did try giving images for the programs to work from but that didn’t seem to make a difference. Hope you have a couple of good laughs.

About Jack Wagner

Retired Army.
This entry was posted in Art & Illustration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to AI Fails

  1. Well some spectacular fails there, Jack, but some very nice successes as well! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. JJ Platt says:

    Very droll! Have you thought of passing on the modern variant of the ‘flaming grenade’ insignia to Legion for consideration? Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.